Top of page
Advertise with us
Coronavirus Pandemic

Webinar on Reducing Risk for Women with Disabilities in Covid-19 Response

webinar banner vector

COVID-19 has affected people across the globe and its effects have exacerbated the challenges faced by persons with disabilities and especially women. Recent evidence has demonstrated an increase in violence, inaccessibility of health services, food insecurity and unavailability of support services experienced by women with disabilities. 

To meet this life threatening situation, it is critical to recognize the risks faced and gaps in the response system. Besides removing barriers to health through accommodative measures, states need to provide social protection that enables independent living, and end targeted gender based violence.

The webinar on 9 June 2020 at 6:30 pm IST (2 pm BST / 9 am EDT) brings together global leaders on disabilities to initiate a discourse on identifying the gaps in the Covid-19 response and identifying ways to reduce the risks for women with disabilities.

The Webinar is jointly organized by Shanta Memorial Rehabilitation Centre (SMRC) and Learning4impact and supported by USAID (India)

To register, go to webinar registration website.

You might also like

Flinders Street station during Melbourne lockdown

Several residential disability services linked to COVID-19 outbreaks in Victoria

More than 30 residential disability services are linked to active…

Senior woman in wheelchair performing exercise with dumbbell

Study seeks best way to meet ‘tidal wave of rehab need’ remotely

A new one-year project is urgently seeking the best ways…

old woman sitting with her husband and using digital tablet.

COVID-19 drives telehealth boom, but older people can’t connect

The COVID-19 pandemic has led to a significant increase in…

Sign language man interpreter

Volunteers help deaf community by making COVID information in SL

India has a large community of people who are deaf…